Japan Travel Ban: Which Countries are Restricted Entry?


Japan’s entry ban applies to those who visited Hong Kong, the Philippines, Singapore, United States, and 72 other countries in the last 14 days.

Observation deck at Tokyo International Airport.


  • There have been 3,271 people who tested positive for COVID-19 in Japan, according to the latest WHO Situation Report from April 5, 2020.
  • The Japanese government has set up measures to contain the spread, including tightened entry of foreigners, strengthened quarantine procedures, and visa suspension.
  • As of April 3, there are 76 countries that are designated into the Japan travel ban list. The policy will remain in place indefinitely.
  • At WAUG, we encourage everyone to practice WHO’s protective measures against the coronavirus. When conditions improve in your place (hopefully, soon!), you can use our platform’s Map feature to quickly scan your area for nearby leisure spots and restaurants. Check out the app here.

Explore more: Activities in Tokyo to Add to Your Bucket List

Latest COVID-19 Updates in Japan

Here are the laboratory-confirmed cases and deaths in Japan, as reported by the World Health Organization (WHO) on April 5:

Confirmed Cases

There have been 3,271 confirmed COVID-19 cases in Japan.

Total Deaths

70 people died in Japan due to the coronavirus.

Recent Headlines

  • The Governor of Tokyo urged residents to avoid restaurants and karaoke bars until April 12.¹
  • City-run schools in Tokyo are closed until May 6.²
  • Prime Minister Shinzo Abe announces ‘two masks per household’ policy.³

Japan Travel Ban: Restricted Entry for Foreigners

Kyoto, Japan. Credit: DynamicWang

In response to the increasing tally of COVID-19 cases, Japan tightened entry for foreigners who have visited the following countries within the last 14 days:


  1. Brunei
  2. China
  3. Hong Kong
  4. Indonesia
  5. Macau
  6. Malaysia
  7. Philippines
  8. South Korea
  9. Singapore
  10. Taiwan
  11. Thailand
  12. Vietnam


  1. Australia
  2. New Zealand

North America

  1. Canada
  2. United States

Latin American and the Caribbean

  1. Bolivia
  2. Brazil
  3. Chile
  4. Dominica
  5. Ecuador
  6. Panama


  1. Albania
  2. Andorra
  3. Armenia
  4. Austria
  5. Belgium
  6. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  7. Bulgaria
  8. Croatia
  9. Cyprus
  10. Czech
  11. Denmark
  12. Estonia
  13. Finland
  14. France
  15. Germany
  16. Greece
  17. Hungary
  18. Iceland
  19. Ireland
  20. Italy
  21. Kosovo
  22. Latvia
  23. Liechtenstein
  24. Lithuania
  25. Luxembourg
  26. Malta
  27. Moldova
  28. Monaco
  29. Montenegro
  30. Netherlands
  31. North Macedonia
  32. Norway
  33. Poland
  34. Portugal
  35. Romania
  36. San Marino
  37. Serbia
  38. Slovakia
  39. Slovenia
  40. Spain
  41. Sweden
  42. Switzerland
  43. United Kingdom
  44. Vatican

Middle East

  1. Bahrain
  2. Iran
  3. Israel
  4. Turkey


  1. Côte d’Ivoire
  2. Democratic Republic of the Congo
  3. Egypt
  4. Mauritius
  5. Morocco

Foreign visitors included in the Japan travel ban list will not be able to enter any of Japan’s ports unless they face extraordinary circumstances.

In total, there are 76 countries that are subject to Japan’s entry ban as of April 3, 2020. The policy will stay until further notice.

Japan Visa Suspension & Restriction

Aside from the entry ban, the Japanese government has also suspended the validity of single-entry and multiple-entry visas issued by any of its diplomatic offices in any country except the following:

  • Taiwan
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Canada
  • United States
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Dominica
  • Ecuador
  • Panama
  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Kosovo
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia
  • Serbia
  • Turkey
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco

Visa exemption measures are also suspended for any relevant country, except for the aforementioned 23 territories.

Explore near you

Find restaurants and activities in your area using WAUG’s Map feature. Download the app here.

Get the Latest Japan Travel Ban Updates

To get the most updated list of countries that are placed under the entry ban, visit JNTO’s dedicated page on COVID-19 here.

Jump Back



Short for "Where are you going?", WAUG is the #1 Activity & Accommodation Booking Platform from South Korea.