Korean Visas for Tourists Temporarily Suspended


In a bid to prevent the further spread of COVID-19, the Embassy of Korea in the Philippines announced a temporary suspension of short-term Korean visas that we’re issued on or before April 5, 2020.



  • Single-entry and multiple-entry Korean visas that are under the C-3 category — issued to general tourists, group tourists, medical tourists, and business visitors — that we’re issued on or before April 5, 2020 will be temporarily suspended beginning April 13.
  • Bearers of the C-1 visa, which is issued to foreigners who intend to engage in temporary journalistic activities, will also be rendered unusable for the time being.
  • However, those who hold an A, C-4, D, E, F, G, and H type of Korean visa will not be affected by the suspension.
  • If you’re thinking about visiting a restaurant or having a quick road trip once we put a stop to the pandemic, use WAUG to book activities near you. Check out the app here and get an instant discount coupon if you create an account.

Explore more: Japan Travel Ban: Which Countries are Restricted Entry?

Korean Visas on Hold

To mitigate the spread of the coronavirus, the Embassy of Korea in the Philippines announced that C-1 and C-3 visas that were issued on or before April 5, 2020 will be temporarily suspended starting Monday, April 13. The new policy applies to Filipino tourists and business visitors who have a valid single-entry or multiple-entry Korean visa. Those subject to the policy will not be able to enter South Korea until the suspension is lifted. The Korean Embassy has not provided a timeframe for their policy.

However, Filipinos who were issued a long-term or a short-term employment visa, whether A, C-4, D, E, F, G, or H, will not be affected by the temporary suspension.

ROK’s neighboring country Japan had also made a similar announcement on March 26.

More on the C-3 Korean Visa

This is issued to foreigners who intend to enter South Korea for tourism, medical purposes, and short-term business engagements.

More on the C-1 Korean Visa

This is issued to foreigners who want to engage in short-term news coverage or establish a foreign news branch.

안녕하세요 여러분. 와그입니다.

Hello, we’re WAUG. It’s unfortunate that we’re meeting under such difficult times, but we’d like you to know that we’re thinking of ways to improve your travel experience in the near future. We are adding activities that you can enjoy without having to go overseas and are improving the safety conditions of our global tours. You can stay connected with us by downloading WAUG on your phone here. 고맙습니다.

Temporary Suspension for Visa-Free Entry and Visa-Waiver Programs

Aside from visa suspension, South Korea has also deferred its visa-free entry and visa-waiver programs for the time being for the following countries:

Countries Under the Suspended Visa-Waiver Program

  • New Zealand
  • Malaysia
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Bahamas
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Haiti
  • El Salvador
  • Uruguay
  • Jamaica
  • Chile
  • Costa Rica
  • Peru
  • Guatamela
  • Grenada
  • Dominican Republic
  • Brazil
  • Saint Lucia
  • Republic of Suriname
  • Colombia
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Panama
  • Bulgaria
  • Italy
  • Greece
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Denmark
  • Germany
  • Latvia
  • Russia
  • Romania
  • Luxembourg
  • Lithuania
  • Belgium
  • Switzerland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Spain
  • Slovakia
  • Iceland
  • Estonia
  • Austria
  • Czech Republic
  • Kazakhstan
  • Turkey
  • Portugal
  • France
  • Finland
  • Hungary
  • Morocco
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Israel
  • Tunisia
  • Lesotho

Countries Under the Suspended Visa-Free Entry Program

  • Nauru
  • Marshall Is.
  • Micronesia
  • Kiribati
  • Australia
  • Solomon Is.
  • Tuvalu
  • Fiji
  • Hong Kong
  • Taiwan
  • Macau
  • Brunei
  • Samoa
  • Tonga
  • Argentina
  • Ecuador
  • Honduras
  • Canada
  • Paraguay
  • Montenegro
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Cyprus
  • Serbia
  • Croatia
  • Bahrain
  • Oman
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Qatar
  • Kuwait
  • Mauritius
  • Republic of South Africa
  • Botswana
  • Kingdom of Eswaitini
  • Seychelles


To view the official Facebook post announcement of the Korean Embassy regarding the temporary suspension, click here.

Jump Back



Short for "Where are you going?", WAUG is the #1 Activity & Accommodation Booking Platform from South Korea.